Lighthouse School, inspiring bright futures

Attendance

At Lighthouse School we firmly believe that all students benefit from regular school attendance. The aim of this guidance is to minimise the amount of time lost due to absence in order to maximise the educational potential of every student. This can be achieved with the support of parents by ensuring absence, including holidays, is not taken during term time unless there are ‘exceptional circumstances’.

At Lighthouse School, in order for an attendance record to be deemed good, it must be 96% or above:

  • 100% Excellent Attendance
  • 98% Very Good Attendance
  • 96% Good Attendance

Each year, a number of students from every year group achieve 100% attendance, emphasising that it is an achievable target. Some achieve this level of attendance year upon year. Absence during term time, for any reason, interrupts a student’s education and risks disrupting their educational progress.

Students and their families should aim for 100% attendance, The Department for Education state good attendance is 95% or better.

Students with:

  • 85% attendance are missing 1 1/2 days of education every fortnight.
  • 85% and below are classified as Persistent Absentees
  • 80% attendance all the way through secondary school is the equivalent of missing a whole year of education.

Term Dates 2018 - 2019

Holiday School closes School opens
Autumn mid-term Friday 26th October 2018 Monday 5th November 2018
Christmas break Thursday 20th December 2018 Monday 7th January 2019
Spring mid-term Friday 15th February 2019 Monday 25th February 2019
Easter break Friday 5th April 2019 Tuesday 22nd April 2019
May Bank Holiday Friday 3rd May 2019 Tuesday 7th May 2019
Summer mid-term Friday 24th May 2019 Monday 3rd June 2019
Summer Break Tuesday 23rd July 2019

Training days 2018 - 2019

  • Monday 3rd September 2018
  • Friday 19th October 2018
  • Monday 25th February 2019
  • Tuesday 7th May 2019

Term Dates 2019 - 2020

Holiday School closes School opens
Autumn mid-term Friday 25th October 2019 Monday 4th November 2019
Christmas break Friday 20th December 2019 Monday 6th January 2020
Spring mid-term Friday 14th February 2020 Monday 24th February 2020
Easter break Friday 3rd April 2020 Monday 20th April 2020
May Bank Holiday Friday 1st May 2020 Tuesday 5th May 2020
Summer mid-term Friday 22nd May 2020 Monday 1st June 2020
Summer Break Monday 20th July 2020

Training days 2019 - 2020

  • Monday 2nd September 2019
  • Tuesday 3rd September 2019
  • Monday 4th November 2019
  • Monday 6th January 2020
  • Friday 3rd April 2020
Attendance documents